A lute plays on

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 9.48.34 AM
A little crazed you are, mine heart
Only you know what your thoughts are.
Why show me your dreams then for
Till day’s end and from night’s start ?

Drop by drop, dreams, in a drizzle
Filling my eyes, little by little.
How do I walk now, tell me
Through these paths unknown
That I cannot even see ?

A lute plays on in the distance
Softly, but surely, for me to listen.
A lute plays on …

A story of someone, I hear
A story of something dear.
I listen to it drawing me in
Till I’m submerged and a’ drowning.

Be this the story whole, that’s being told
Or a two minute tale, who knows ?
Be this the season that stays forever
Or petulantly, in a moment, disappears ?

A lute plays on in the distance
A refrain, again, for me to listen.
A lute plays on …

Drop by drop, tears, in a drizzle
Filling my eyes, little by little.
What is this song haunting me
Sung by a lute in the distance
That I cannot even see ?

– A translation of Javed Akhtar’s Iktaara from Wake up Sid

Explore posts in the same categories: lyrics, poems and quotes

Leave a Reply

