Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.44.16 PM

Drops of water, me this river gives.
Drops of water, only let me live.
If Life this be, onwards let it flow.
If thirsty I am, let me but remain so.

Fast asleep was I, when you came close by.
Saved by your embrace, me, it would seem,
For my startled feet had slipped into a dream.
Yet adrift into this dream, let me go.
If thirsty I am, let me but remain so.

A tower sky high, of wishes unfulfilled.
With you by my side, I yearn for you still.
But is this maybe why life seems so beautiful ?
With these wishes, let me soar.
If thirsty I am, let me be forevermore.

Floating with this wispy mist
Perhaps I’ve reached the sky.
Know I would this, if I but open my eyes.
Yet in this mist, let me forever stay.
If thirsty I am, let me be so always.

– A translation of Gulzar’s Qatra Qatra from Ijaazat

 

Explore posts in the same categories: lyrics, poems and quotes

Leave a Reply

