Painter of mine

“Colour my dress” I asked you
And you dyed it a moody blue.
Piercing its way through the cloth
It stained and stayed in my heart.

“Colour my dreams” I urged you
A black fence around them you drew.
Boxed in, clean, neat and tidy,
They grow old and grey quietly.

“Colour my time” I begged you
“With a lovely moment or two”
You did. But had it framed
With an armour that hurt and pained.

“Colour me” I now tell you
And then wonder and wonder
About what you are going to do.

Inspired by listening to Ae Rangrez Mere. Words I borrowed, but the tone differed. The actual song is lovely and here’s a translation (in spirit) by the lyricist himself. 

Explore posts in the same categories: lyrics, poems and quotes, music

Leave a Reply

