Jaane Anjaane

On my way in this road, people I see
Some strangers, from lands across the sea
Some others, more familiar to me
But the one I search for, where is he ?

The hopes I had at the start of this journey
Were, but a step away from reality.
Dissipated by the harsh heat of Destiny
They now float on as dreams, ethereally.

Including my laughter, slowly but surely
Fate has slyly stolen everything from me
My tears are the marks of his treachery
As I yearn for what was never meant to be

Translation of S H Bihari’s Jaane Anjaane Log Mile from Jaane Anjaane (1971)

P.S – No one quite does a sad song like Kishore Kumar.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: lyrics, poems and quotes, music

Leave a Reply

