Review: Tremendous Trifles

Tremendous Trifles
Tremendous Trifles by G.K. Chesterton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Generally when I am reading a Chesterton novel, I am so blown away by each single line which is sculpted and honed like a statue from the stones of words, that I lose track of what the plot is [sometimes even of whether there *is* a plot] So when he is writing about nothing at all (or so he says) and when he gives himself full freedom to jump from idea to idea, to linger on if needed or to rush from one to the other, the end result is one beautiful collection of thoughts.

There is humour (I mean, the laugh-out-loud kind) present simultaneously among analogies so beautiful. And there are sentences like “The world will never starve for want of wonders, but only for want of wonder.” Do I need to say more ?

View all my reviews

Explore posts in the same categories: book reviews

Leave a Reply

